New Wow Visual Designer / Studio Interest Poll

Feb 27, 2013 at 4:30 AM
Hi,

I've been a long time WoW player since 2009. I'm also a professional Software Architect and Programmer for many years. I've designed and created many projects including commercial software in multiple industries, etc..

So, having said that, I'm curious if there is still any interest in a first-class, commercial grade Lua / Wow..and other games / Studio? I'm playing with the idea of creating a brand new, high-performance, graphical designer Lua / Wow Studio.

Many years ago, I created a Visual Designer for the assembly language (MASM/TASM) for Win 32 with pretty good feedback. This was like 14 years ago.

Now, I always thought to create a tool, a visual designer, with full Lua support and on top of that that is high-performant, natively compiled to machine code.

This current AddOn Studio for World of Warcraft is based on .Net and Visual Studio. I understand that this project is dead. So, I wanted to know if anyone still might be interested in great Lua / Wow tool?

Would people pay money for a supported, commercial grade tool? If so, how much? $10? $20? More? Or, do people expect to have this for free?

Please let me know by replying here or contacting me.

Thank you,
Thomas Jaeger
Feb 27, 2013 at 5:16 AM
Edited Feb 27, 2013 at 6:04 AM
There is an 'AddOn Studio 2010 for World of Warcraft' at
http://www.wowwiki.com/AddOn_Studio_2010

This is effectively a version 3.0 AddOn Studio including the designer, which is actively developed, and works with the latest versions of WoW. This has been available for well over a year and a half, maybe two years now. I use it myself.
Maybe it would help if some of the pages here were changed.